Driving on a Suspended License: A Big Deal
Why You Should Think Twice Before Laughing Off a Possible Driving on a Suspended License Charge
In Virginia, a driving on a suspended license charge is a very serious offense according to section 46.2-301 that many people tend to take lightly. There are many ways to get your driver’s license suspended, some don’t even have anything to do with getting a traffic violation and once you have one, you’ll want to take it very seriously as it carries with it a hefty punishment if violated. Even when you’re only headed to your job, getting caught while driving on a suspended license in Virginia is not going to get you just a warning from an officer. Your first offense will be considered a class one misdemeanor that can cost you $2,500, up to twelve months in jail and an additional license suspension for the original suspension duration or up to ninety days. Also, depending on what you have a suspended license for, the punishment can be much worse. Just think, a driving on a suspended license charge is the same level of offense as a DUI. It is imperative to get your license fixed if possible before your court date or to obtain your driving record and other DMV documents. You’ll want to keep in mind that if you are able to fix your license before your court date that does not necessarily mean that you can now drive. In fact, in most cases you cannot drive regardless until you’ve at least had a court hearing. Equally important is reviewing your reinstated driver’s license or DMV records with your defense attorney in order to go over the reason why your license was suspended and what steps need to be taken to get your license back or to follow the best steps to get a restricted license. With a restricted license you will be able drive to and from places like work, school, doctor appointments as well as many other important scenarios. An attorney can help you complete the form to request a restricted license (which needs to be very detailed) before your court date so that you have the best chance to keep your right to drive.
Driving on a Suspended License: What You Need to Know!
There are many ways to get your license suspended in Virginia. Some of the most common ways include; not paying court fines, driving beyond the terms of your restricted license, a drug related conviction, being delinquent on your child support responsibilities and getting a DUI. If you are caught driving on a suspended license that resulted from a DUI you can be charged on a completely different section of the Virginia code. It is very important to figure out where you stand and what you stand to lose if caught driving on a suspended license. Let’s say this is your 3rd conviction in the past 10 years you could get five years in prison with a class six felony charge, your charge will at least include a mandatory 10 day jail sentence. Get a good defense team: you’ll want to find an attorney who has a lot of experience with cases of “driving on a suspended license.” After being caught driving on a suspended license, there is still some hope. An experienced attorney at Petrovich & Walsh can help you find the appropriate defense to your driving on a suspended license case. There are many defenses available for driving on a suspended license and it is crucial to have a defense attorney who is familiar with these types of cases especially if you have priors. Your attorney should obtain copies of any priors you have, analyze them, and determine if there are any valid arguments to have them dropped. Dropping any of your priors could mean the difference of jail time and no jail time. So if you ever find yourself with a suspended license, think again before you decide to drive.